Untitled Document

The Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS)

TELPAS assesses the English language proficiency of K–12 ELLs in four language domains:
listening, speaking, reading, and writing. English language proficiency assessments in grades K–12 are federally required to evaluate the progress that ELLs make in becoming proficient in the use of academic English.

A holistically rated assessment process is used for the following grades and language domains of TELPAS.
     • Grades K–1: listening, speaking, reading, writing
     • Grades 2–12: writing

In alignment with the ELPS, these assessments measure the ability of each EL to understand and use English to engage in grade-appropriate content-area TEKS instruction. The assessments are conducted by teachers and are based on the performance of students in daily instruction.

The TELPAS reading, listening, and speaking components for students in grades 2–12 are administered online in a multiple-choice format.


TEA Parent Resources:

Final_English_TELPAS FAQ.PDF
Final_Spanish_TELPAS FAQ.PDF

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.